Marvel Studios unveils phase three: "Black Panther" and third "Avengers" will be split in two

Marvel announced the first solo lead of color and first female star, along with many other exciting additions

Published October 28, 2014 7:50PM (EDT)

In an impromptu press conference on Tuesday at the El Capitan Theater in Hollywood, Marvel Studios president Kevin Feige unveiled "phase three" of the Marvel universe: three new series, new characters and exciting new installments.

One of the three largest revelations was the introduction of a new character and movie, "Black Panther," to be played by Chadwick Boseman, who starred in "42" and "Get on Up." Boseman, who will play T’Challa ruler of the fictional Wakanda, will be the first black solo lead in the Marvel Studios franchise.

The concept art for "Black Panther" is below and the film is scheduled to be released on Nov. 3, 2017.

[embedtweet id="527166892243705856"]

Marvel Studios also announced the first female-lead film "Captain Marvel"; it will be follow a character named Carol Danvers, and comes out on July 6, 2018.

Some of the biggest news, of course, was that the third installment of "Avengers" will be split into two: "Infinity War: Part I" and "Infinity War: Part II," coming out in early May of 2018 and 2019, respectively.

It was also revealed that "Captain America 3" will be out May 6, 2016. Though it was originally announced that the subtitle would be "Serpent Society," to the delight of fans it will be "Civil War."

"Thor" and "Guardians of the Galaxy" will also receive new installments: "Thor: Ragnarok," out on July 28, 2017, and a sequel to "Guardians of the Galaxy" out on May 5, 2017. There will also be a new series, "Inhumans," out in early November of 2018.

By Sarah Gray

Sarah Gray is an assistant editor at Salon, focusing on innovation. Follow @sarahhhgray or email

MORE FROM Sarah Gray

Related Topics ------------------------------------------

Marvel Marvel Comics Marvel Studios Movies The Avengers Threequel