James Joyce


By James Joyce

Published October 5, 2000 7:00AM (EDT)

James Augustine Aloysius Joyce was born on February 2, 1882. Between the years of 1904 and 1907, Joyce wrote "Dubliners," his famous series of short stories.

The fifteen stories that make up the audio release of "Dubliners" roam over a human landscape that stretches from the bleakest of despair to the most blinding of epiphanies. First published in 1914, the stories are as lucid and accessible as they are memorably poignant.

The performers on this collection are: Frank McCourt, Patrick McCabe, Colm Meany, Dearbhla Molloy, Dan O'Herlihy, Malachy McCourt, Donal Donnelly, Brendan Coyle, Jim Norton, Sorcha Cusack, Ciaran Hinds, T.P McKenna, Fionnula Flanagan, Charles Keating and Stephen Rea.

Listen to a recording of Frank McCourt reading the complete story "Sisters," brought to you in cooperation with HarperAudio. This piece is available for the first time on the web and only at Salon Audio.

James Joyce

MORE FROM James Joyce

Related Topics ------------------------------------------