A. M. Homes

"Music for Torching"

By A. M. Homes

Published October 5, 2000 7:00PM (EDT)

A. M. Homes is the author of the novels The End of Alice, In the Country of Mothers, and Jack, as well as the short story collection The Safety of Objects. Her fiction has been translated into eight languages, and her nonfiction has appeared in magazines such as Vanity Fair, The New York Times Magazine, Mirabella, and ArtForum. She teaches in the writing program at Columbia University and lives in New York City.

"I found myself rapt from beginning to end, fascinated by Homes' single-minded talent for provocation." -The New York Times Book Review

Listen to Homes reading an excerpt from Music For Torching.

Excerpt from "Music for Torching" (5:34)

A. M. Homes

A.M. Homes' new novel, "May We Be Forgiven," will be published Sept. 27. Her many other acclaimed books include "Music for Torching," "The Safety of Objects," "Jack" and "The End of Alice."


Related Topics ------------------------------------------