The Young Lions

Ethan Hawke reads from the works of the finalists for the New York Public Library's Young Lions Fiction Award, with an introduction by Rick Moody.

Published May 1, 2001 8:00AM (EDT)

The New York Public Library Young Lions Fiction Award is a new $10,000 prize to be given each spring to an American author age 35 or younger for a novel or short story collection. Young Lions committee members Rick Moody, Ethan Hawke and Jennifer Rudolph Walsh spearheaded the creation of the award.

The six nominees for the 2001 Young Lions Fiction Award were:

  • Mark Z. Danielewski ("House of Leaves")
  • David Ebershoff ("The Danish Girl")
  • Myla Goldberg ("Bee Season")
  • Heidi Julavits ("The Mineral Palace")
  • Akhil Sharma ("An Obedient Father")
  • Darin Strauss ("Chang and Eng")

    At the April 23 awards ceremony, actors Ethan Hawke and Uma Thurman read from the nominated works. The award judges were novelists Michael Chabon, A. M. Homes and Colm Tsibmn.

    Listen to Rick Moody's introduction and to Ethan Hawke reading from award-winner Danielewski's "House of Leaves."

  • By Salon Staff

    MORE FROM Salon Staff

    Related Topics ------------------------------------------