Young Lions, Part 2

Uma Thurman reads from David Ebershoff's novel "A Danish Girl," and Ethan Hawke reads from Heidi Julavits' "The Mineral Palace," two finalist in the New York Public Library Young Lions Fiction Award.

Published May 2, 2001 8:00AM (EDT)

The New York Public Library Young Lions Fiction Award is a new $10,000 prize to be given each spring to an American author age 35 or younger for a novel or short story collection. Young Lions committee members Rick Moody, Ethan Hawke and Jennifer Rudolph Walsh spearheaded the creation of the award.

The six nominees for the 2001 Young Lions Fiction Award were:

  • Mark Z. Danielewski ("House of Leaves")
  • David Ebershoff ("The Danish Girl")
  • Myla Goldberg ("Bee Season")
  • Heidi Julavits ("The Mineral Palace")
  • Akhil Sharma ("An Obedient Father")
  • Darin Strauss ("Chang and Eng")

    At the April 23 awards ceremony, actors Ethan Hawke and Uma Thurman read from the nominated works. The award judges were novelists Michael Chabon, A. M. Homes and Colm Tsibmn.

    Listen to Uma Thurman read from "The Danish Girl" by David Ebershoff and to Ethan Hawke read from "The Mineral Palace" by Heidi Julavits.

  • By Salon Staff

    MORE FROM Salon Staff

    Related Topics ------------------------------------------