De Niro to receive lifetime award at Golden Globes

Actor has already won eight prizes. Ricky Gervais to return as host

Published November 9, 2010 5:33PM (EST)

Robert De Niro will receive the Cecil B. DeMille Award for lifetime achievement at next year's Golden Globe Awards.

The honor was announced Tuesday by Kevin Spacey. The award will be presented to him at the 68th annual Golden Globes on Jan. 16.

De Niro has won eight Golden Globes Awards in both the comedy and drama categories. He's also won two Academy Awards and the Kennedy Center Honor.

Previous winners include Barbra Streisand, Al Pacino, Michael Douglas, Steven Spielberg and this past year's recipient, Martin Scorsese.

Ricky Gervais will return as the ceremony's host.

By Associated Press

MORE FROM Associated Press

Related Topics ------------------------------------------

Golden Globes Movie Awards Season