"Zero Dark Thirty" and "Lincoln" sweep New York Film Critics Circle Awards

Meanwhile, "Argo," "The Master" and "Silver Linings Playbook" were totally shut out

Published December 3, 2012 8:24PM (EST)

The New York Film Critics Circle has announced its 2012 award winners: Kathryn Bigelow's "Zero Dark Thirty" is the year's Best Picture. "Thirty" also won two additional awards, tying with Steven Spielberg's drama "Lincoln," which earned Best Screenplay, Best Actor, Best Supporting Actress.

Surprisingly, "The Master," starring Joaquin Phoenix, Philip Seymour Hoffman and Amy Adams, along with much-hyped dramedy "Silver Linings Playbook" and Ben Affleck's "Argo," came away empty-handed.

The full list appears below:
Best Picture: "Zero Dark Thirty"
Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow for "Zero Dark Thirty"
Best Screenplay: Tony Kushner, "Lincoln"
Best Actress: Rachel Weisz, "The Deep Blue Sea"
Best Actor: Daniel Day-Lewis, "Lincoln"
Best Supporting Actress: Sally Field, "Lincoln"
Best Supporting Actor: Matthew McConaughey "Bernie," Magic Mike"
Best Cinematographer: Greig Fraser, "Zero Dark Thirty"
Best Animated Film: "Frankenweenie"
Best Non-Fiction Film (Documentary): "The Central Park Five"
Best Foreign Film: "Amour"
Best First Film: David France, "How to Survive a Plague"

By Prachi Gupta

Prachi Gupta is an Assistant News Editor for Salon, focusing on pop culture. Follow her on Twitter at @prachigu or email her at pgupta@salon.com.

MORE FROM Prachi Gupta

Related Topics ------------------------------------------

Awards Film Lincoln Movies Nyfcc Zero Dark Thirty