New music by Michael Jackson to be released in May

"XSCAPE" arrives May 13

Published March 31, 2014 4:55PM (EDT)

The world is about to hear eight new songs by Michael Jackson, five years after his death. In conjunction with the Estate of Michael Jackson, Epic Records has announced via its Web site that the album, titled "XSCAPE," will be released May 13.

"The title of this album honors Michael’s album naming process," according to the Web site. "He always chose a song from the album to name his projects and, beginning with THRILLER, used only one word titles, each with an edgy quality to them."

The album is executive produced by Epic Records Chairman and CEO L.A. Reid, and Timbaland, Rodney Jerkins, Stargate and John McClain are among the track producers. More from the press release:

After mining by the Estate of Jackson’s archives, Reid was granted unlimited access to the treasures spanning four decades of material on which Jackson had completed his vocals. Reid then teamed up top producers to “contemporize” the songs while retaining Jackson’s essence and integrity, creating the best music you’ve never heard.

Epic will also release a Deluxe Edition of "XSCAPE," which will include "a selection of the recordings in their original form." Both albums will be available for pre-order on April 1st.

By Prachi Gupta

Prachi Gupta is an Assistant News Editor for Salon, focusing on pop culture. Follow her on Twitter at @prachigu or email her at

MORE FROM Prachi Gupta

Related Topics ------------------------------------------

Epic Records King Of Pop Michael Jackson Music Xscape