Beck announces new album featuring Jeff Tweedy, Jack White, Jack Black and others

Beck's sheet-music-only album, "Song Reader," is being released reimagined by other artists

Published July 10, 2014 3:05PM (EDT)

Beck     (AP/Paul A. Hebert)
Beck (AP/Paul A. Hebert)

In 2012, Beck released an album, of sorts: "Song Reader" was only sheet music for original songs. On Wednesday, Beck announced plans for that music to come to life through the interpretation of many artists. The 20-track album will be recorded by various artists from Wilco's Jeff Tweedy, to Jack White, Laura Marling, Pulp's Jarvis Cocker, Nora Jones and more. It is out on July 29.

"It amazes me to hear how these musicians have made the songs their own and in the process revealed that the interpretation is the living breathing soul of the piece," Beck explained in a release. "These interpretations have made the book something new -- something better."

Beck performed one of the songs last year. Listen below:

The track list is below, via Pitchfork:

01 Moses Sumney: "Title of this Song"
02 Fun.: "Please Leave a Light On When You Go"
03 Tweedy: "The Wolf Is on the Hill"
04 Norah Jones: "Just Noise"
05 Lord Huron: "Last Night You Were a Dream"
06 Bob Forrest: "Saint Dude"
07 Jack White: "I’m Down"
08 Beck: "Heaven’s Ladder"
09 Juanes: "Don’t Act Like Your Heart Isn’t Hard"
10 Laura Marling: "Sorry"
11 Jarvis Cocker: "Eyes That Say 'I Love You'"
12 David Johansen: "Rough On Rats"
13 Jason Isbell: "Now That Your Dollar Bills Have Sprouted Wings"
14 The Last Polka: "Marc Ribot"
15 Eleanor Friedberger: "Old Shanghai"
16 Sparks: "Why Did You Make Me Care?"
17 Swamp Dogg: "America, Here’s My Boy"
18 Jack Black: "We All Wear Cloaks"
19 Loudon Wainwright III: "Do We? We Do"
20 Gabriel Kahane with Ymusic: "Mutilation Rag"

h/t Pitchfork

By Sarah Gray

Sarah Gray is an assistant editor at Salon, focusing on innovation. Follow @sarahhhgray or email

MORE FROM Sarah Gray

Related Topics ------------------------------------------

Beck Cool Culture Innovation Jack Black Jack White Laura Marling Music New Music Video