Women who have won a party's nomination for US president


Published September 13, 2016 6:00AM (EDT)

Dozens of women have sought the presidency throughout U.S. history. A list of the 30 who received the nomination of their party:

1872: Victoria Woodhull (Equal Rights Party)

1884: Belva Ann Lockwood (National Equal Rights Party)

1888: Belva Ann Lockwood (National Equal Rights Party)

1940: Gracie Allen (Surprise Party)

1952: Ellen Linea W. Jensen (Washington Peace Party); Mary Kennery (American Party); Agnes Waters (American Woman's Party)

1968: Charlene Mitchell (Communist Party)

1972: Linda Jenness (Socialist Workers Party); Evelyn Reed (Socialist Workers Party, 3 states)

1976: Margaret Wright (People's Party)

1980: Ellen McCormack (Right to Life Party); Maureen Smith (Peace and Freedom Party); Deirdre Griswold (Workers World Party)

1984: Sonia Johnson (Citizens Party); Gavrielle Holmes (Workers World Party)

1988: Lenora Fulani (New Alliance Party); Willa Kenoyer (Socialist and Liberty Union parties)

1992: Lenora Fulani (New Alliance Party); Helen Halyard (Socialist Equality Party); Isabell Masters (Looking Back Party); Gloria La Riva (Workers World Party)

1996: Monica Moorehead (Workers World Party); Marsha Feinland (Peace and Freedom Party); Mary Cal Hollis (Socialist Party, Liberty Union Party); Diane Beall Templin (The American Party); Isabell Masters (Looking Back Party)

2000: Monica Moorehead (Workers World Party); Cathy Gordon Brown (Independent)

2004: Diane Beall Templin (The American Party)

2008: Cynthia McKinney (Green Party); Gloria La Riva (Party for Socialism and Liberation); Diane Beall Templin (The American Party)

2012: Jill Stein (Green Party); Roseanne Barr (Peace and Freedom Party); Peta Lindsay (Party for Socialism and Liberation)

2016: Hillary Clinton (Democratic Party); Jill Stein (Green Party)



Related Topics ------------------------------------------