National Board of Review names "Zero Dark Thirty" best film

Kathryn Bigelow's film gains another round of top critics awards

By Prachi Gupta
December 6, 2012 1:21AM (UTC)
main article image
(Fer Gregory)

New York's century-old National Board of Review has followed the footsteps of the New York Film Critics Circle and awarded Kathryn Bigelow's "Zero Dark Thirty" with best film and best director. "Thirty's" Jessica Chastain also won best actress. The other major winner was "Silver Linings Playbook," which was conspicuously absent from the NYFCC's selections.

Full list of winners below:


Best Film:  "Zero Dark Thirty"
Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow, "Zero Dark Thirty"
Best Actor: Bradley Cooper, "Silver Linings Playbook"
Best Actress: Jessica Chastain, "Zero Dark Thirty"
Best Supporting Actor: Leonardo DiCaprio, "Django Unchained"
Best Supporting Actress: Ann Dowd, "Compliance"
Best Original Screenplay: Rian Johnson, "Looper"
Best Adapted Screenplay: David O. Russell, "Silver Linings Playbook"
Best Animated Feature: "Wreck-It Ralph"
Special Achievement in Filmmaking: Ben Affleck, "Argo"
Breakthrough Actor: Tom Holland, "The Impossible"
Breakthrough Actress: Quvenzhané Wallis,  "Beasts of the Southern Wild"
Best Directorial Debut: Benh Zeitlin, "Beasts of the Southern Wild"
Best Foreign Language Film:  "Amour"
Best Documentary: "Searching for Sugarman"
William K. Everson Film History Award: 50 Years of Bond Films
Best Ensemble: "Les Miserables"
Spotlight Award: John Goodman ("Argo", "Flight" "Paranorman," "Trouble With the Curve")
NBR Freedom of Expression Award: "Central Park Five"
NBR Freedom of Expression Award: "Promised Land"

The awards ceremony will take place on Jan. 8 in New York.

Prachi Gupta

Prachi Gupta is an Assistant News Editor for Salon, focusing on pop culture. Follow her on Twitter at @prachigu or email her at

MORE FROM Prachi GuptaFOLLOW prachiguLIKE Prachi Gupta

Related Topics ------------------------------------------

Cinema Film National Board Of Review Zero Dark Thirty