National Book Critics Circle's 2013 awards announced

Winners include debut novelist Ben Fountain and seasoned LBJ biographer Robert Caro

Published March 1, 2013 3:40AM (EST)

The 2013 winners of the National Book Critics Circle were announced on Thursday night at the New School in New York's West Village. Two of the recipients were National Book Award finalists — fiction winner and debut novelist Ben Fountain, for his novel "Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk" (read Laura Miller's review — one of Salon's top 10 books of the year) about the Iraq war, and veteran writer Robert A. Caro, for the fourth installment of his LBJ biographical series, "The Passage of Power: The Years of Lyndon Johnson" (read Erik Nelson's review). Below, the full list of award recipients.

Recipients of the National Book Critic Circle Awards for 2013

D. A. Powell, "Useless Landscape, or A Guide for Boys" (Graywolf Press)

Marina Warner, "Stranger Magic: Charmed States and the Arabian Nights" (Belknap Press: Harvard University Press)

Leanne Shapton, "Swimming Studies" (Blue Rider Press)

Robert A. Caro, "The Passage of Power: The Years of Lyndon Johnson" (Alfred A. Knopf)

Andrew Solomon, "Far From the Tree: Parents, Children, and the Search for Identity" (Scribner)

Ben Fountain, "Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk" (Ecco)

By Kera Bolonik

Kera Bolonik, a writer, critic, and editor, is the executive editor of DAME Magazine. Her writing has appeared in Elle, Glamour, New York magazine, Salon, Slate, and the New York Times Book Review, among other publications. She lives in Brooklyn, New York.

MORE FROM Kera Bolonik