Exclusive listen: Stream Shawn Colvin's new album "Uncovered," reimagining Springsteen, Tom Waits and more

"Uncovered" goes on sale Friday with 12 striking interpretations of songs by other great writers

By Erin Keane

Chief Content Officer

Published September 21, 2015 4:50PM (EDT)

  (Alexandra Valenti)
(Alexandra Valenti)

Grammy Award-winning singer/songwriter Shawn Colvin follows up her 2012 album "All Fall Down," with "Uncovered," a collection of 12 cover songs from Fantasy Records. On "Uncovered," Colvin tackles some unexpected choices from great songwriters, including Bruce Springsteen ("Tougher Than the Rest") and Tom Waits ("Hold On"), in her inimitable style.

This is Colvin's second studio album of covers —  1994's "Cover Girl" included gems like her rendition of Talking Heads' "This Must Be the Place (Naive Melody)" and The Police's "Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic" — both produced by Eagles guitarist Steuart Smith.

Here's the track list:

1. Tougher than the Rest (Bruce Springsteen)
2. American Tune (Paul Simon)
3. Baker Street feat. David Crosby (Gerry Rafferty)
4. Hold On (Kathleen Brenan-Tom Waits)
5. I Used To Be A King (Graham Nash)
6. Private Universe (Neil Finn)
7. Heaven Is Ten Zillion Light Years Away (Stevie Wonder)
8. Gimme A Little Sign feat. Marc Cohn (Jerry Winn-Alfred Smith-Joseph Hooven)
9. Acadian Driftwood (Robbie Robertson)
10. Lodi (John C. Fogerty)
11. Not A Drop of Rain (Robert Earl Keen Jr.)
12. 'Till I Get it Right (Tammy Wynette)

"Uncovered" hits iTunes and stores Friday, and Colvin heads out on tour with Don Henley Oct 3. Listen to the album stream below:

By Erin Keane

Erin Keane is Salon's Chief Content Officer. She is also on faculty at the Naslund-Mann Graduate School of Writing at Spalding University and her memoir in essays, "Runaway: Notes on the Myths That Made Me," was named one of NPR's Books We Loved In 2022.

MORE FROM Erin Keane

Related Topics ------------------------------------------

Music Shawn Colvin Uncovered