Antonio Banderas takes on Picasso


Acting superstar Antonio Banderas and newcomer Alex Rich joined Salon’s D. Watkins to discuss one of the most important roles for both of their careers, the prolific artist Pablo Picasso. Banderas and Rich share the title role of one of the 20th century’s most influential and celebrated artists (Banderas the later years, and Rich, the young Picasso) on the second installment of NatGeo’s “Genius” series— “Genius: Picasso,” premiering April 24 on the National Geographic channel.

“Picasso is a universe, and a country and a persona and a planet all in his self,” Banderas told SalonTV’s D. Watkins. “He didn’t marry with anybody or anything at all. He was a very, very strong artist. Very honest in his artistry and that honesty actually in his personal life, took him to very very complicated situations with friends, with women and in dealing with his own family.”

The 10-part series provides a deep meditation on Picasso’s life, his flaws and what ultimately made him one of the best artist ever. Watch the interview above to hear more on how Banderas prepared for the role and his take on immigration and his vision of America. Tune in for SalonTV's live shows, "Salon Talks" and "Salon Stage,” daily at noon ET / 9 a.m. PT and 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT, streaming live on Salon, Facebook and Periscope.

More From This Week on SalonTV